Question for feminists: Where are women in the queer movement?

post-thumb

(Originally posted on Nov 22, 2022)


In November 2022, I read an article posted by the Gender Equality Workshop of Taiwan’s top 1 university—the National Taiwan University. In this article, the history of identity politics in the movement for gender equality and the deconstruction of genders are discussed. However, the more I read, the more I felt confused. The author first suggested that the concept of “woman” per se is extremely heterogeneous. Then, the author argued that because transgender women are also oppressed by patriarchy, they share the same experiences of being sexually assaulted or stigmatized as women do; namely, transgender women are women regardless of their male bodies. In the author’s conclusion, transgender women’s plight is also the focus of feminism—they are whom women should ally with.

When sexual minorities are the focus of feminism, how about women?

The waves of feminism keep developing one after another. Riding those waves, sexual minorities like LGBT+ come to public attention and ask for their structural disadvantages to be seen. Frankly speaking, sexual minorities violate the hetero-patriarchal (male-centered) disciplines according to which men and women should play specific roles and thus easily become the targets for interrogations. Are all the rebellions launched by sexual minorities to fight against those disciplines absolutely right?

Based on the feminist perspectives of patriarchy, queer theories developed from the resistance to the domination of mainstream values. In this queer movement, traditional ideas were resisted and marginalized people were embraced to celebrate the diversity in humans. At the same time, the groups included in it expanded rapidly: Sexual minorities, people of color, marginalized sexualities, and even animals and environments were considered the disadvantaged groups for which women should fight—In other words, feminists should be the savior for all.

The purpose of my analysis is not to deny the disadvantages of the identities mentioned above. Instead, I aim to ask, “Where are women in this queer movement?”

Till now, the groups celebrating “intersectionality” focus on the issues of preferred gender pronouns, outing someone of the closet or not, depression for unknown reasons, and physically advantaged men’s participation in women’s sports. Those groups carefully validate marginalized people’s feelings and accuse women of having “cis-gender privileges”. When they call women oppressors who should self-reflect, I cannot help but think, “Seriously?”

When it comes to political and economic resources, women are not oppressors at all—Let’s see the data. According to the 2021 report of Taiwan’s Ministry of Labor, male employees’ average monthly wage is 61,150 TWD with the average monthly work hour being 169.3 hours, and the average wage per hour being 361 TWD. As for female employees, the average monthly wage is 49,809 TWD with the average monthly work hour being 163.8 hours, and the average wage per hour being 304 TWD. The gender pay gap is 15.8%. In the U.S., this number is 16.9%. In Japan, it is 30.6%. In South Korea, it is 30.4%. As for political resources, 88.51% of elected officials, 81.94% of political officials, and 70% of legislators, senior officials, as well as managers in Taiwan, are male.

Probably we should also look at the clear reports of sexual violence. In 2022, 7,787 sexual assault victims have been reported to Taiwan’s police. Among this number, 6,406 victims are women. In 2019, a new gender category, “other”, was added to Taiwan’s official report. In the 2019 report, 3 victims are put in this category. For the 2020 and 2021 reports, the numbers of this category are 2. I wonder, after fully recognizing gender identity politics, would the gender gap in these data be changed? Could women be less oppressed if they openly “self-identify” as men and wear men’s clothes? Could trans-identified men instantly lose male privileges and be committed sexual violence of the same extent that women always endure by self-identifying as women and wearing women’s clothes?

The fact is that women still have to face inequality in living resources and be alerted to (at the same time, tactfully retreat from) men’s harassment even if invasion. However, the transgender rights movement considers women’s resistance to staying in the same room with men an evil “cis-gender privilege” which makes trans-identified men feel not insecure. So far this movement is not about equality for all but about one side’s overpowering.

Protective measures for women or, “cis-gender privileges”

Women are not oppressed simply because of their “feminine” roles. Rather, women are oppressed by their female bodies. Her body will be considered to have reproductive potential regardless of her will or ability. That is the center where the social norms (gender) have been built around.

For instance, the glass ceiling for women is the result of multiple causes. First, employers assume that women must prioritize family life over careers and thus cannot keep up with the work schedule or refuse to work extra hours in order to do more household chores for the family. Second, employers must provide welfare based on women’s biological functions. Compared with their men colleagues, women employees can apply for “menstrual leave” and “maternity leave”. Both two types of leave are based on the biological reality that women might be unable to work when experiencing a menstrual cycle and feeling discomfort and pain. These gender stereotypes and protective measures are one of the reasons that employers have less preference for women employees.

As for the gender stereotypes of women, female body experiences also participate. For example, why are women regarded as caretakers or “born to” have maternal instincts? Isn’t it because women can get pregnant? In other words, these gender stereotypes are also derived from women’s biological reality and further develop into the expectation and pressure for women’s fertility.

Speaking of sexual violence, most of us surely know that sexual assault is not only about sexual desire but also about the display of power as well as the abuse of weaker people. All mentioned above can be proved by the fact that the highest percentage of reported sexual violence occurs in children. Similarly, most adult victims are women. Also, the older the adult victims are, the gender ratio within the same age group becomes higher. Compared with men, women are physically more vulnerable on average. Hence, they are more likely to be selected as the victims of abuse.

When we are discussing how sexual minorities are oppressed due to their resistance to the mainstream culture, we are supposed to ask: Is it fair that letting “trans-identified men” envy women, take away women’s safe spaces, be nominated for women’s prizes, and represent for women in every sense?

Women’s alliance with the transgender movement—a collaboration or corrosion?

For liberal and postmodern feminists, allying with trans people seemed to be a decision that never became wrong. As Taiwanese, probably we should look at the regions in which transgender ideology has been adopted for many years—such as Europe and the US. Could we see those women be less oppressed after allying with trans people? Or, could we say that the trans ally cares about women?

From 2021 to 2022, Lia Thomas is a well-known name that anyone who pays attention to sports, especially swimming. During that time, this trans-identified young male successfully transferred from the male group to the female group and became eligible for all female swimming competitions. Soon, Thomas’s rank bounced from #462 as a male to #1 as a female. Not only did Thomas beat the Tokyo 2020 silver medalist but Thomas also broke several women’s swimming records.

North Carolina, US, a trans-identified male volleyball athlete spiked at a speed of 112 km/h and thus caused one female opponent to have a concussion for 2 weeks. This serious accident made the local education committee take prompt action—the team of the trans-identified male was banned from competing with the women’s volleyball teams from other schools.

Laurel Hubbard, the 43-year-old New Zealand mtf weightlifter, beat other female athletes from across Oceania and thus was able to represent New Zealand to compete with other female athletes in their 20s in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. Looking at this age gap, could we claim that mtf athletes do not have any biological advantages? Though Hubbard lose the game because of the failure on all three attempts, Hubbard took away the opportunity to compete in the Olympic games from those regional female athletes.

When I see trans-identified male athletes shine in more and more sports whereas trans-identified female athletes stay silent, I cannot help but begin to wonder: Is it even fair for women to ally with this transgender rights movement?

Just now, a bearded male insisted that he is a “mental woman” and broke into the female hot spring of Emperor Spa in Beitou, Taipei on 10 Nov. 2022. The female ID card he showed to the staff was found out to belong to another person after the female guests called the police. Of course, this is not an isolated case. In 2018, a naked man broke into the “Nanping Public Bathroom” of the female hot spring on the Jin Mountain in New Taipei City. When asked by the female guests, that man also claimed to be a woman. In 2021, a biological man insisted on entering a female SPA as a transgender woman and provoked panic among people in Los Angeles, US. If women say yes to the concept that “a man can self-identify as a woman”, how could they say no to those men in their nudity spaces?

I am not saying that sexual minorities do not have any plights. Instead, I am saying that women cannot be “protected” if they say yes to every request from “self-declared minorities”. Apparently, by self-identifying, men can harass, invade, and exclude women from any possible opportunities. Women’s spaces, sports, and parliamentary seats will be erased. My last question is that, if a feminist must support sexual minorities by “corroding women’s rights” to fight against patriarchy, could she claim that to be fighting for feminism?

Want to receive our latest news?

Subscribe

Donate

For the essential expenses and visibility of this site

Donate

Donate

For the essential expenses and visibility of this site

Donate

post-thumb

談論性少數所受的壓迫時,也別忘了女性主義的原點


筆者近日讀到臺大學生會性別工作坊於 11/9 在粉絲專頁的 PO 出的貼文,談論「身分政治」、「性別的解構」以及「女人應該與跨女結盟」等,讀著讀著,筆者不禁產生些許疑惑。


女性主義談論弱勢,但女性呢?

女性主義的思潮一波接著一波,LGBT+等性少數順著浪潮來到大眾的視野之中,要求大眾看見性少數在社會結構上的弱勢。不可諱言,性少數畢竟違反了父權制度(男性優越體制)下男女應各守其位的異性戀常規,往往容易成為質疑的標靶,然而,性少數對前述常規採取的反抗行動便是全然正確的嗎?

立基於女性主義所指出的父權概念上,反抗主流價值的支配也成為酷兒理論的根基之一,以反抗標準、擁抱邊緣與多元為本的酷兒運動所涵括的群體也愈發壯大:性少數、有色人種、邊緣性癖者,甚至擴及非人的動物與生態環境,許多女性主義者皆心懷救世大願,視之為女性必須為其抗爭的弱勢。

在此,並非要否認以上身分的弱勢面向,而是要詢問:「女性去哪裡了?」

時至今日,高呼「交織性」的團體們著眼於指定性別稱謂、出櫃與否、歸因不明的憂鬱症狀、體能輾壓女性的男人能否參加女性競賽,對邊緣者的情緒呵護備至,指稱女性擁有所謂「順性別」特權,是要自我檢討的壓迫者,真的嗎?

翻開數據,在政經資源獲取的面向上,我國 110 年男性受僱員工每人每月總薪資為 61,150 元,總工時 169.3 小時,平均時薪 361 元;女性總薪資為 49,809 元,總工時 163.8 小時,平均時薪 304 元,兩性薪資差距為 15.8%。在美國,兩性薪資差距為16.9%,日本 30.6%、南韓 30.4%。在我國,民選首長男性占 88.51%,政務人員男性佔 81.94%,民意代表、主管及經理人員之男性比率為 70%。

或者讓我們看看最鮮明的性暴力受害紀錄:111 年性侵害被害人記錄在案的共有 7,787 位,女性佔 6,406 位。自 2019 年起,官方記錄中的性別新增「其他」,2019 年其他共計 3 位,2020 年 2 位,2021 年 2 位。難道我們高舉以認同為主的身分政治之後,這些懸殊的數據就會隨著認同改善嗎?女性能夠高喊著「認為自己是男性」並換穿男裝,就減少壓迫嗎?擁有跨性認同的男性會只因為自稱女性並穿上女裝就突然喪失男性的資源,承受同等於女性的性暴力嗎?

在女性仍需面對生存資源上的不等,與時刻防範(並同時圓滑地迴避)男性的侵擾時,跨性別運動在意的卻只是女性不願意和男性共處一室,造成有跨性認同的男性感覺受排斥,是女性邪惡的「特權」。這樣的天秤,已然失衡。


女性保護措施的所謂「順性別特權」

女性不是單純因為「女性」的抽象角色受到壓迫,而是因為女人的身體無論有無生育意願或能力,都被視為存在生育的潛能,女性所承受的社會性別規範(gender)即環繞於此展開。

例如女性的職場玻璃天花板,除了源於資方認定女人需要照顧家庭,無法配合公司工時、加班需求的家務分工不平等,還有女性的生理條件帶來的弱勢,如「生理假」是建立在女性週期性的流血與身體虛弱上導致產能減少,以及不必發生在男性身上的「產假」,這些建立在生理機能上的勞動規範,也是資方對雇用女性較為牴觸的原因之一。

關於女性的刻板印象也有肉體經驗參與其中,例如女性為什麼會被視為照護者、「天生」擁有母性?不就是因為女性可以懷孕嗎?這亦是由生理事實衍生出的刻板印象,進而形成旁人對女性的生育期待與壓力。

若說到性暴力,我們都知道,性侵並不單只是慾望,其中還包含展現權力、欺侮弱小的成分,從兒童遭受到性暴力的比例之高可以證實,但隨著年紀越大,男女受害性別比就相差愈大,因為女性平均而言體格比男性脆弱,更容易被挑選為可欺壓的對象。

當我們談論性少數因為對抗主流文化而受到壓迫的時候,是不是也可以問問:允許「想成為女人的男性」嫉妒女性、侵奪女性所需的保護空間與獎項的文化,真的公平嗎?


女性與跨運結盟,是壯大還是遭到蠶食?

對於今日的自由女性主義、後現代女性主義者而言,與跨性別者結盟似乎是再正確不過的事,可是看看歐美實施跨性意識形態多年後的現況,結盟之後真的能夠幫助女性對抗壓迫嗎?或者,所謂結盟者有在乎過女性嗎?

在 2021-2022 年,Lia Thomas 是所有關心運動,尤其是游泳的人耳熟能詳的名字,這位年輕的跨性認同生理男性符合當時所有規範,從男子組轉到女子組比賽,更從男子 462 名躍升到女子第 1 名,不只擊敗東京奧運的女子銀牌選手,更連連打破女子游泳記錄。

美國北卡羅來納州一位跨性認同的生理男性排球員以 112 公里時速在女排比賽中暴力扣球,使對方女選手腦震盪2週,這項嚴重的事故使當地的教育委員會決定取消其他學校與該校的女排賽事。

在東京奧運女子舉重賽中,紐西蘭的代表男跨女選手 Laurel Hubbard 以 43 歲的年紀擊敗其他大洋洲女選手取得紐西蘭代表權,得以與 20 幾歲的其他女性選手共同在奧運賽場競技,這樣的年齡差距,我們能說男跨女選手沒有任何生理優勢嗎?雖然最終 Hubbard 因抓舉姿勢不當落敗,但破壞了地區女選手的參賽機會仍是不爭的事實。

當筆者看著有跨性認同的男選手在一項項運動賽事嶄露頭角,具跨性認同的生理女性選手仍舊沉寂,不禁想問:女性與跨運結盟,對女性公平嗎?

就在最近(11/10),台灣北投皇池溫泉會館中,一位帶著鬍渣的生理男性堅持自己是「心理女性」,帶著不屬於自己的他人證件進入女湯,女性泡湯客只能慌張報警。而這當然不是孤例,2018 年新北市金山「南屏公共浴室」女湯也同樣有裸男闖入,那位男性同樣聲稱自己是女性。2021 年,美國洛杉磯也同樣有生理男性堅持以跨性別身分進入女性 SPA,引發巨大恐慌。若是女性同意了「男性自認女性便是女性」,那女性還能在需要裸露的空間對上述這些男人說「不」嗎?

性少數的困境雖然存在,但如不經深思便對「弱勢」的訴求照單全收,便是給予男性肆意侵擾、排擠女性的機會。女性所爭取的性別空間、運動賽事,乃至於保障參政權的保障名額,還會「保障女性」嗎?女性主義若是無條件支持「藉由侵害女性來對抗父權」的性少數,仍能自稱為女性主義嗎?


本文原出處:性別不是你說了算


想要收到網站的最新消息嗎?